Skip to main content Skip to navigation Skip to search
  • Lessons
  • Articles
  • Lessons
  • Articles



Drop D Progressions - Exercise 3 (DADGAD)

Full Access required.
Or enter your email below to get Free lessons!

By signing up, you agree to our Terms & Privacy Policy

Drop D Progressions - Exercise 2 Drop D Progressions - Exercise 4 (DADGAD)

We're now going to experiment with DADGAD tuning. To go to DADGAD tuning, switch the following strings accordingly from standard tuning:

High E: switch to D
B: switch to A
G: leave as is
D: leave as is
A: leave as is
Low E: switch to D

So if you were to look at the string notes from the Low E to the High E strings, it would read: DADGAD.

In this particular progression, we will be using chords like Gadd9, D, Gsus2, Dadd11, D5, Dsus2, and Dsus4.

Be sure to notice the dead notes indicated by the "X" symbols. Whenever you see those, it simply means you will be muting the applicable strings.